Michael Schindhelm | AUTHORS’ READING ON HETEROTOPIAS

04_pos500px

Authors’ Reading on Heterotopias

On occasion of the Frankfurt Book Fair, the Frankfurt event location PRIVATEOFFSPACE hosted readings by both Michael Schindhelm and Henning Lobin. While Michael Schindhelm presented his book “Lavapolis”, Henning Lobin, director of the Center for Media and Interactivity (ZMI) at Giessen University, introduced “Engelbarts Traum”.

03_pos500px

Lavapolis is the name of a fictional island in the Mediterranean, which on the one hand mirrors European realities, while on the other hand questions them. A heterotopia, according to French thinker Michel Foucault, Lavapolis is different from any utopian vision: Not a no-place, but a space of otherness. Lavapolis is different from our world, while intrically linked to it. Thus the question “What is possible?” does not only shape the book and worry the island’s residents – rather it is a challenge to question the world we live in.

05_pos500px

Henning Lobin’s book focuses on Douglas Engelbart, the inventor of the computer mouse, and at the same time scrutinizes the question in how far the Digital Revolution changed our conception of reading and writing. According to Lobin, the option to manipulate, delete, complement or edit a text from all over the world means that we have to reconsider the meaning of texts, signs and writing.

02_pos500px

The project “Friday in Venice” thus can be seen as a missing link: The transmedia storytelling project, initiated by Michael Schindhelm and carried out with the support of various individuals ans instutions, such as ZMI, offered the opportunity to uphold the story. Online or during the various shows (for example at the Biennale of Architecture in Venice), the audience had the opportunity to participate in the narration on the island.

Join the conversation

Michael Schindhelm | LESUNG “HETEROTOPIEN”

04_pos500px

Lesung “Heterotopien”

Die Frankfurter Buchmesse bot Michael Schindhelm und Henning Lobin den Anlass zu einer gemeinsamen Lesung im Frankfurter PRIVATEOFFSPACE. Waehrend Michael Schindhelm aus seinem juengsten Buch “Lavapolis” las, das zugleich den Ausgangspunkt zum transmedialen Erzaehlprojekt “Friday in Venice” darstellt, praesentierte Henning Lobin, Direktor des Zentrums für Medien und Interaktivitaet (ZMI) an der Universitaet Giessen, “Engelbarts Traum”.

03_pos500px

Michael Schindhelms Buch imaginiert eine Mittelmeerinsel namens Lavapolis, die die gesellschaftliche Wirklichkeit Europas einerseits spiegelt, zugleich aber in Frage stellt. Als “Heterotopie” im Sinne des franzoesischen Denkers Michel Foucault erscheint diese Insel nicht als Utopie, ist kein Nicht-Ort – stattdessen ist sie ein Gegen-Ort. Somit ist sie anders als die Welt, die wir kennen, aber doch mit dieser auf das Engste verbunden. So wirkt die Frage, “Was ist moeglich?”, die dem Buch zugrundeliegt und das Denken der Inselbewohner bestimmt, immer auch auf unsere Welt zurueck.

05_pos500px

Henning Lobin hingegen spuerte Douglas Engelbart, dem Erfinder der Computermaus und der Frage nach, wie die Digitale Revolution der letzten Jahrzehnte unser Verstaendnis des Lesens und Schreibens veraendert hat. Die Moeglichkeit, einen Text von jedem Ort der Welt manipulieren, loeschen, ergaenzen und ueberarbeiten zu koennen, muesse zu einer Neubewertung des Textes, der Schrift und des Zeichens fuehren, so Lobins These.

02_pos500px

Das Projekt “Friday in Venice”, initiiert von Michael Schindhelm, das in Zusammenarbeit mit zahlreichen Akteuren wie dem ZMI entstehen konnte, verbindet nicht nur die beiden Autoren; ausgehend von “Lavapolis” bot das transmediale Erzaehlprojekt tatsaechlich die Moeglichkeit, die Geschichte der Mittelmeerinsel fortzuschreiben: Online oder waehrend der Auftritte von “Friday in Venice”, zuletzt auf Architektubiennale in Venedig, bekam das Publikum Gelegenheit, Einfluss zu nehmen und Teil der Erzaehlung zu werden.

Neuen Kommentar hinterlassen