Michael Schindhelm | PEOPLE OF LAVAPOLIS

stromboli 3#5

People of Lavapolis

Lavapolis, an island as large as Malta, deeper than any other island in the Mediterranean rift between the coast of Crete, Sicily and the Libyan coast, has been inhabited and visited by people who expose themselves deliberately a social experiment. Some of them speak here about their experience for the first time. Friday, who is going to travel European cities during this spring, is one of them.

FRIDAY, illegal immigrant to the island with blur national identity, member of an activist group

We discovered each other on the Internet. At some stage, a few people decided to come to the island – illegally, of course, and temporarily. Presumably we are now illegal and temporary everywhere.
I was the first to arrive here. I know my way around the region quite well. As a teenager I spent some time in Bari, Italy. Europe looks like an alien planet from Bari. The Germans or Dutch have long since written off the south of the continent. No productive energy, insane unemployment levels, low educational achievements, corruption and the social Pre-Modern period. The entire Mediterranean area is a camp for globalization losers.

IMG_5206#5

PADMA, 39, has lived on the island for many years, of Indian descent, the mother of two sons, a head of department in the government’s Social Fund

My dear mother gave birth to me in Aluva, Kerala. I have two brothers and two sisters who live with their families quite close to our parents and we respect them very much. I was the only one to move out. Aluva is now a suburb of the capital Kochi. It is very famous in India because of the temple where the poison Halahala has been stored. The poison had risen from the sea in the form of mist so that neither the Devas nor the Asuras could drink the Amrit. Amrit is the nectar of eternal life. The Devas and Asuras died. But then Shiva drank the poison and took it in his mouth to Aluva. That is why we say: if anybody wants to drink Amrit, they must first swallow the poison.
Our people really swallow a lot of poison. And rarely obtain any nectar… My parents love their children above anything else and made ​​sure that we received a good education. Of course they were proud of my promotion to Kochi. When I received the offer to come to the island for the bank three years later, they were rather worried about me. Everyone in Kerala knows that it is best for young people to look for their sip of Amrit somewhere else. They had heard very little about the island at that time. They would have preferred to see me in Bombay or the Gulf. My dear mother gave birth to me in Aluva, Kerala. I have two brothers and two sisters who live with their families quite close to our parents and we respect them very much. I was the only one to move out. Aluva is now a suburb of the capital Kochi. It is very famous in India because of the temple where the poison Halahala has been stored. The poison had risen from the sea in the form of mist so that neither the Devas nor the Asuras could drink the Amrit. Amrit is the nectar of eternal life. The Devas and Asuras died. But then Shiva drank the poison and took it in his mouth to Aluva. That is why we say: if anybody wants to drink Amrit, they must first swallow the poison.

FRIDAY

I sometimes spent my summer holidays in this camp. It was a bit weird. Laptops, for example, had not yet found their way to Apulia. People only knew about the Internet from hearsay. We only met locals at the beach at weekends, but then there were droves of them making a lot of noise. Many could not even swim. Because hardly anyone spoke English, I had to speak Italian. For me that was quite an achievement.
When I was a few years older, I sometimes took the ferry to Patra with friends and I hitchhiked through Albania and Greece. We even visited the island once. Someone told us about the casinos and the huge airport. I found it all pretty bizarre in comparison to the little snow-white villages on the other islands and the tramps in Bari. Despite this, an idea had taken root in me to return and see what had happened to the casinos and the airport.

IMG_7893#5

ALBERTO, 56, a native of the island, director of the Department of Strategic Planning in the Faidon Messinis government

All the residents of the island are equipped with video-pods. Our citizens are able to become involved in the Agora through this instrument. They can contact any citizen via the video-pod from any terminal at the Agora. If he or she accepts the enquiry, they automatically accept that the contact will be stored in the archives at the Agora…

Each person is involved in expanding the human collection. This turns it into an artwork. If you like, we potentially have six hundred curators, who are managing and enriching a collection of six hundred thousand human subjects. No more and no less. Compared to the normal social media, it’s a village…
Do you realise artists, curators, the public… There’s no difference for us anymore. Everyone’s an artist, a curator or the general public. Each person tells their story and it is also the subject of history. We have nothing against professional art. It has its place in our archives too. Its creators belong to the community of the Agora like any others. But that’s all. We don’t share the conviction that artists might have more important things to say about us than others – than we do, for example. They have one voice, but it’s the voice of an individual.  What counts for us is the collective body, the citizens, their stories, their objects. – We’ve reached one of the most important functions of the universal Agora. It liberates individuals from the obligation to either be a producer or consumer for professional, material, religious or other reasons. It destroys the contradiction between art and life. What you can see here is the island, both as fiction and as reality…!

IMG_9273#5

DASHA, 43, a resident of the island for five years, of Russian-Jewish descent, the mother of a 14-year-old son, works at the immigration department

They call me Strelka in the office. I zipped around during my first few months as if I had lost my purse. But I just wanted to organise our new life as quickly as possible. My boss asked me at some stage what arrow means in Russia. “Well, Strelka,” I replied. That gave me my nickname – because I shot through the office like an arrow…
I calmed down in due course. But I kept my nickname without anybody thinking much about it – apart from me. The bitch that was sent into space a long time ago for experimental purposes in the Soviet Union, which was my home, was also called Strelka. It was not the first dog in space, but the first one to return alive. Perhaps Strelka survived because it did not fly alone. There was a second dog, Belka, in the metal capsule, the sputnik. There was also a rabbit and some mice, rats and who knows what else. This sputnik was a real Strelka ark…
Perhaps that matches my nickname and I really am an experimental dog. But I have shot myself deliberately up into space. The first expedition was to Israel, the second to Austria, the third here.

IMG_0544#5

FRIDAY

No one believed in a future any more. That was a disease and a plague. You might say we have found protection from this disease on the island. Some commute to the mainland, others have their home on the island. Every now and then we return to the cities that we left for some kind of project. But we mostly operate on the Internet.

STASCHA, 41, an island resident for a short time, a Briton of Macedonian descent, a journalist

I was ready to get away from it all. I boarded a plane belonging to an airline that is so successful with its price dumping and landed in a paradise, not one hundred and ninety nautical miles west of Greek territorial waters. I wanted to know.

So here I am: I am still a bit shaky on my legs due to the notoriously narrow rows of seats, still slightly irritated by the glistening sunlight that matches the adverts. But thinking processes cannot be repressed or corrupted. My critical faculty, which makes me who I am, is returning.
It occurs to me that while thousands of people are queuing up in front of soup kitchens over there in Athens and Heraklion, people are competing for every available job holding banners and children are unable to go to school because they are so hungry, here, international colonies of high-end tourists are wandering through the golden sands of Leisure City, kept fit by Moët & Chandon refreshments and Thai massages before heading out on a rented yacht for a cruise through the still sun-drenched archipelagos of southern European economic misery or returning for a casual game of baccarat at the hotel’s casino… Something sticks in my throat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

FAIDON, 69, the current prince on the island, in conversation with STASCHA

F   OK… I’ll give you a riddle! A farmer leaves behind seventeen horses and a will after he dies; he assigns his inheritance to his three sons according to the following ratio: the first son receives half, the second a third and the youngest a ninth of the horses. Now find the solution!

S   I assume this is a trick.

F   Then you’re doing the dead man an injustice. We both know that you can’t divide seventeen horses into halves or thirds without causing a bloodbath. But look, the people in the countryside talk to each other about their problems. So the three brothers seek help from a neighbour. The neighbour finally has an idea. He lends the brothers one of his horses so that they now have eighteen. The ratio now works perfectly: the oldest receives nine, the middle son six and the Benjamin three of the animals. And to increase the miracle, the horse that the neighbour has lent them is left over.

S   Back to the people on your island.

img_6194_500_cr

F   I am with them, Stascha. I fear lest the outside world acts like you – and cannot solve the riddle. Instead of lending one horse, the inheritance is gradually being slaughtered. Woe if the transaction does not pay off! Well, the transaction is not particularly beneficial for the neighbour. He doesn’t lose anything, but gains little too. So why does he help? Because he’s a neighbour and neighbours in the countryside generally help each other. We may not be in the countryside, but we’re establishing an unprofitable economic zone with a great deal of economic expertise. We’re lending people, who have a project, horses so that they can complete their project. If all goes well, we’ll get our horse back. You’re familiar with the unprofitable economic zone known as the Social Fund. The outside world has abandoned any faith in the need for these kinds of zones. But that’s precisely our opportunity. The society that we have in mind is not more profitable, but simply more humane than others. We spend a lot of money on art and culture, on international aid projects, on young people who have amazing ideas, and we don’t ask questions about the profits that we might obtain. We enable the quality of life, which has now become unimaginable in your home country, in a social world.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 

DIAMANTIS, one of the first to colonise the island, formerly a key figure in setting up the economy under the original prince, Theodore Messinis

Perhaps you have some idea of where I am heading. I am now 103 years old. Some of my friends still come to play dominos. Iosif is even two years older than me. I am not amazed by anything anymore… I have simply forgotten to die.

 

Join the conversation

Michael Schindhelm | LEUTE VON LAVAPOLIS

stromboli 3#5

Leute von Lavapolis

Lavapolis, “weiter entfernt im tiefen mediterranen Graben zwischen den Kuesten Kretas, Siziliens und der libyschen Kueste als irgendein Eiland”, wird von Menschen bewohnt und besucht, die sich freiwillig einem sozialen Experiment aussetzen. Einige von ihnen kommen hier erstmals zu Wort. Friday, der im Mai Staedte auf dem Kontinent besuchen wird, ist einer von ihnen.

FRIDAY, 32, illegaler Inselbewohner unbekannter Herkunft, Mitglied einer Aktivisten-Gruppe

Gefunden haben wir uns im Netz. Irgendwann haben ein paar Leute beschlossen, auf die Insel zu gehen. Illegal natuerlich. Temporaer. Vermutlich sind wir inzwischen ueberall illegal und temporaer. Ich war der Erste hier. Es ist nicht wichtig, wo ich herkomme, aber ich kenne mich in der Region ganz gut aus. Schon als Kind bin ich ein paar Mal in Bari, Italien, gewesen. Von Bari aus sieht Europa wie ein fremder Planet aus. In den Koepfen von Deutschen oder Hollaendern gilt der Sueden schon lange als abgemeldet. Keine Produktivkraft, wahnsinnige Arbeitslosigkeit, geringer Bildungsstand. Korruption und soziale Vormoderne. Der gesamte mediterrane Raum ein Lager von Globalisierungsverlierern.

IMG_5206#5

PADMA, 39, seit vielen Jahren Inselbuergerin indischer Abstammung, Mutter von zwei Soehnen, Abteilungsleiterin im Sozialfonds der Regierung

Meine geliebte Mutter hat mir in Aluva, Kerala, das Leben geschenkt. Ich habe zwei Brueder und zwei Schwestern, die alle mit ihren Familien ganz in der Naehe unserer verehrten Eltern wohnen. Nur ich bin ausgezogen. Aluva ist heute ein Vorort der Hauptstadt Kochi. Er ist in Indien sehr beruehmt wegen des Tempels, in dem das Gift Halahala aufbewahrt worden ist. Das Gift war in Duensten vom Meer aufgestiegen, sodass weder die Devas noch die Asuras vom Amrit trinken konnten. Amrit, das ist der Nektar des ewigen Lebens. Devas und Asuras starben. Aber dann hat Shiva das Gift getrunken und in seinem Mund nach Aluva gebracht. Deshalb heisst es bei uns: Wer Amrit trinken will, muss erst Gift schlucken…

Meine Eltern lieben ihre Kinder ueber alles und haben dafuer gesorgt, dass wir eine gute Ausbildung bekamen. Natuerlich waren sie stolz auf meine Promotion nach Kochi. Als ich drei Jahre spaeter das Angebot bekam, fuer die Bank auf die Insel zu gehen, hatten sie ein bisschen Angst um mich. Jeder in Kerala weiss, es ist das Beste fuer junge Leute, nach ihrem Schluck Amrit woanders zu suchen. Von der Insel hatte man damals aber noch so gut wie nichts gehoert. Sie haetten mich lieber in Bombay gesehen oder am Golf.

FRIDAY

Damals habe ich in diesem Lager manchmal die Sommerferien verbracht. Schraeg war das schon. Der Laptop hatte zum Beispiel seinen Weg noch nicht nach Apulien gefunden. Internet kannten sie vom Hoerensagen. Einheimische traf man am Strand nur zum Wochenende, dann aber in laermenden Scharen. Viele konnten nicht mal schwimmen. Weil kaum jemand Englisch sprach, musste ich also Italienisch sprechen. Das war schon was.
Als ich ein paar Jahre aelter war, habe ich zusammen mit Freunden ab und zu die Faehre nach Patra genommen und bin durch Albanien und Griechenland getrampt. Einmal waren wir sogar auf der Insel. Jemand hatte von den Casinos erzaehlt und dem riesigen Flughafen. Ich fand das damals alles ziemlich bizarr im Vergleich zu den kleinen schneeweissen Doerfern auf den anderen Inseln und den Pennern in Bari. Trotzdem hat sich da ein Gedanke bei mir eingenistet: irgendwann zurueckzukehren und zu sehen, was aus den Casinos und dem Flughafen geworden ist.

IMG_7893#5

ALBERTO, 56, inselgebuertig, Direktor des Departements fuer Strategische Planung der Regierung Faidon Messinis

Alle Bewohner der Insel sind mit VideoPods ausgestattet. Unsere Buerger haben es in der Hand, sich durch dieses Geraet in der Agora zu engagieren. Sie koennen von jedem Terminal der Agora aus jeden Buerger ueber sein VideoPod kontaktieren. Nimmt er Ihre Anfrage an, dann akzeptiert er automatisch, dass der Kontakt im Archiv der Agora gespeichert wird…
Jeder beteiligt sich an der Erweiterung der Menschensammlung. Das macht sie zu einem Kunstwerk. Wenn Sie wollen, haben wir potentiell sechshunderttausend Kuratoren, die eine Sammlung von sechshunderttausend menschlichen Subjekten verwalten und bereichern. Nicht mehr und nicht weniger… Jeder ist Kuenstler, Kurator, Publikum. Jeder erzaehlt Geschichten und ist zugleich Gegenstand der Geschichte. Wir haben nichts gegen professionelle Kunst. Auch sie hat in unserem Archiv ihren Platz. Ihre Schoepfer gehoeren zur Community der Agora wie jeder andere. Aber das ist auch alles. Wir teilen nicht die Ueberzeugung, Kuenstler haetten ueber uns und die Welt wichtigere Dinge zu sagen als andere, zum Beispiel als wir selbst. Sie haben eine Stimme, aber es ist die Stimme Einzelner. Was fuer uns zaehlt, ist das Kollektiv. Sind die Buerger. Ihre Geschichten, ihre Objekte. – Ich bin bei der wichtigsten Funktion der Universal-Agora angekommen. Sie befreit das Individuum vom Zwang, aus beruflichen, materiellen, religioesen oder sonstigen Gruenden entweder Produzent oder Konsument zu sein. Sie loest den Widerspruch auf zwischen Kunst und Leben. Was Sie hier sehen, ist die Insel zugleich als Fiktion und als Wirklichkeit…

IMG_9273#5

DASHA, 43, seit fuenf Jahren Inselbewohnerin russisch-juedischer Herkunft, Mutter eines 14-jaehrigen Sohns, arbeitet bei der Einwanderungsbehoerde

Im Buero nennen sie mich Strelka. In den ersten Monaten bin ich durch die Gegend gerannt, als haette ich meine Geldboerse verloren. Dabei wollte ich nur so schnell wie moeglich unser neues Leben organisieren. Meine Chefin hat mich irgendwann gefragt, was Pfeil auf Russisch bedeute. Na, Strelka, habe ich ihr geantwortet. Da hatte ich meinen Spitznamen weg. Weil ich wie ein Pfeil durchs Buero geschossen bin.
Das hat sich mit der Zeit gelegt. Der Spitzname ist geblieben, ohne dass sich noch jemand viel dabei denkt. Von mir abgesehen. Denn mir ist spaeter die Huendin eingefallen, welche vor langer Zeit zu Versuchszwecken in den Weltraum geschossen worden ist. In der Sowjetunion, die mal mein Zuhause war. Diese Huendin hiess auch Strelka. Sie war nicht der erste Hund im All. Aber der erste, der lebend zurueckgekommen ist. Vielleicht hat Strelka ueberlebt, weil man sie nicht hat allein fliegen lassen. Mit ihr in der Metallkapsel, dem Sputnik, war naemlich ein zweiter Hund, Belka. Ausserdem ein Kaninchen, Maeuse, Ratten und wer weiss was noch. Na, eine echte Arche Strelka ist dieser Sputnik gewesen…
Vielleicht stimmt das ja mit meinem Spitznamen, und ich bin auch so eine Versuchshuendin. Nur habe ich mich selbst abgeschossen. Die erste Expedition ging nach Israel, die zweite nach Oesterreich, die dritte hierher.

IMG_0544#5

FRIDAY

Niemand glaubt mehr an eine Zukunft. Das ist eine Krankheit, eine Seuche. Man koennte sagen, wir haben uns vor dieser Seuche auf der Insel in Sicherheit gebracht. Einige pendeln zum Festland, andere haben ihre Bude auf der Insel. Hin und wieder kehren wir fuer eine Aktion zurueck in die Staedte, aus denen wir fortgegangen sind. Meistens operieren wir aber im Netz.

STASCHA, 41, seit kurzem Inselbesucher, Brite mazedonischer Abstammung, Journalist

Ich war reif fuer die Insel. Ich stieg in ein Flugzeug einer durch Preisdumping so erfolgreichen  Airline und landete in einem Paradies, keine hundertneunzig nautische Meilen westlich griechischer Hoheitsgewaesser. Ich wollte es wissen.
Und hier bin ich also: Noch ein bisschen wackelig auf den Beinen wegen der notorisch engen Sitzreihen, noch leicht irritiert durch das anzeigengerecht gleissende Sonnenlicht. Aber Denken laesst sich weder unterdruecken, noch korrumpieren. Der kritische Blick, ohne den ich nicht Ich waere, kehrt zurueck.
Waehrend drueben in Athen und Heraklion Tausende vor oeffentlichen Suppenkuechen Schlange stehen, faellt mir ein, Menschen mit Transparenten vor dem Bauch um jeden sich bietenden Job werben und Kinder vor Hunger die Schule nicht besuchen koennen, waten hier internationale Kolonien von High-End-Touristen durch den goldenen Sand von Leisure City, fit gehalten von Moet Chandon-Erfrischungen und Thai-Massagen, ehe sie mit der gemieteten Yacht zu einer Kreuzfahrt durch die immer noch sonnenbeguenstigten Archipele des suedeuropaeischen Wirtschaftselends aufbrechen oder sich zu einer laessigen Partie Baccarat ins hoteleigene Casino zurueckziehen… Irgendwas wuergt im Hals.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

FAIDON, 69, derzeitiger Fuerst der Insel und STASCHA

F   Ich stelle Ihnen ein Raetsel. – Ein Bauer hinterlaesst nach seinem Tod siebzehn Pferde und ein Testament, in welchem er seinen drei Soehnen das Erbe nach folgendem Schluessel zuteilt: Der erste Sohn bekommt die Haelfte, der zweite ein Drittel und der juengste ein Neuntel der Pferde. – Finden Sie die Loesung!

S   Ich vemute eine Finte.

F   Da tun Sie dem Toten Unrecht. Wir beide wissen, dass man siebzehn Pferde nicht ohne Gemetzel in Haelften oder Drittel teilen kann. Sehen Sie, auf dem Lande sprechen die Leute miteinander ueber ihre Probleme. Die drei Brueder suchen also Rat bei einem Nachbarn. Schliesslich hat der Nachbar eine Idee. Er leiht den Bruedern eines seiner eigenen Pferde. Nun haben sie achtzehn. Wunderbarerweise funktioniert jetzt der Schluessel: Der Aelteste bekommt neun, der Mittlere sechs und der Benjamin drei der Tiere. Und um das Wunder zu vergroessern, bleibt sogar das Pferd uebrig, das ihnen der Nachbar verliehen hat.

S   Zurueck zu den Menschen auf Ihrer Insel.

img_6194_500_cr

F   Ich bin bei ihnen, Stascha. Ich fuerchte, der Aussenwelt geht es wie Ihnen, sie loest das Raetsel nicht. Anstatt ein Pferd auszuleihen, wird nach und nach das Erbe abgeschlachtet. Wehe, die Transaktion rechnet sich nicht! – Nun, fuer den Nachbarn rechnet sich die Transaktion nicht sonderlich. Er verliert zwar nichts, gewinnt aber ebenso wenig. Warum hilft er also? Weil er eben ein Nachbar ist, und sich Nachbarn auf dem Lande in der Regel helfen. Wir sind zwar nicht auf dem Lande, aber wir bauen mit viel volkswirtschaftlicher Expertise eine unprofitable Wirtschaftszone auf. Wir leihen Leuten, die ein Projekt haben, Pferde, damit sie ihr Projekt durchfuehren koennen. Wenn alles gut geht, kriegen wir das Pferd zurueck. Sie kennen die unprofitable Wirtschaftszone unter der Bezeichnung Sozialfond. Die Aussenwelt hat den Glauben an die Notwendigkeit solcher Zonen aufgegeben. Sehen Sie, darin liegt unsere Chance. Die Gesellschaft, die uns vorschwebt, ist nicht gewinnbringender, sondern schlicht menschlicher als andere. Wir geben eine Menge Geld aus fuer Kunst und Kultur, fuer internationale Hilfsprojekte, fuer junge Leute, die erstaunliche Ideen haben, und wir fragen nicht nach unserem Gewinn. Wir ermoeglichen das bei Ihnen zu Hause inzwischen unvorstellbar gewordene Leben in einer sozialen Welt.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

DIAMANTIS, einer der ersten Siedler auf der Insel und unter dem ersten Fuersten, Theodore Messinis, maßgeblich am Aufbau der lokalen Wirtschaft beteiligt

Vielleicht ahnen Sie inzwischen, worauf ich hinaus will. Ich bin jetzt hundertdrei Jahre alt. Einige der Freunde kommen nach wie vor zum Dominospielen. Iosif ist sogar zwei Jahre aelter als ich. Ich wundere mich ueber nichts mehr… Wir haben einfach vergessen zu sterben.

Neuen Kommentar hinterlassen